Accidentally Cooking

Documenting my mistakes in the garden, kitchen and pantry

Apple Pie

Leave a comment

I loves me some apple pie. Not just any apple pie, of course: The absolute best is my Nana’s apple pie. She follows a deceptively simple recipe, and she always uses the same Stayman Winesap apples. She won’t make a pie without them, and for the most part I won’t either. There’s a reason for this: These apples make a damn good pie.

I also love them for other purposes too. They cook great and they’re great for eating out of hand too. They’ve got a juicy, almost creamy mild apple flavor that I absolutely love. You can’t always find them at the grocery store next to some of the more popular varieties, but when I can get my hands on them I like to buy them in bulk.

They’re a late season apple, so when they finally came it around the beginning of October, we went out a-pickin’ with my parents and the munchkin. And picked we did: We came home with almost 40lbs for ourselves (my parents took home about half as much for themselves).

The recipe my Nana uses, and I try to follow, is very simple and very similar to recipes I’ve seen in some common cookbooks.  I say that I “try to follow” the recipe because I never seem to do it correctly and the results of my efforts are never quite as good as hers is. I’ve got a whole lifetime to practice, so eventually I might start getting it correctly.

These are the bags of the stayman winesap apples we brought home, after pulling out enough for a pie, a slow-cooker full of simmering apple-butter, and about half a dozen for hand eating. What are we going to do with all the rest of these apples? More pie, of course!

Nana’s Apple Pie

  • 1 Cup Sugar
  • 2 Tbsp Flour
  • 1 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp Salt
  • 2 Tbsp Butter
  • 6-7 Cups Apples, peeled and sliced (Stayman Winesap)

Combine the dry ingredients together. Spread 1/2 cup of the dry mixture in the prepared bottom crust. Add apples and sprinkle the remaining dry ingredients on top. Dot with the butter. Cover with top crust and cinch. Cut several small holes in the top crust to vent. Protect crust rim with aluminum foil if necessary.

Bake on the lowest rack in your oven on 425 degrees for 35-40 minutes (I actually think my oven requires a little bit more time than that). Remove from oven and let cool. Jam it into your face with the force of a thousand suns. Repeat. I’ve got so many apples laying around, I almost can’t afford to not make another pie. Or two.

Author: Andrew Whitworth

I'm a software engineer from Philadelphia PA. Sometimes I like to go out to my garden, or step into my kitchen and make a really big mess of things.

Leave a Reply

