Accidentally Cooking

Documenting my mistakes in the garden, kitchen and pantry

Carrots

Leave a comment

Last weekend I decided it was time to pull out the carrots, all 4 of them.

I’m glad I did! Given my luck this year, and the poor performance of the bed in general, I was worried that they would be short, stubby nonsense. As you can see, they came out surprisingly big:

For comparison, the largest of the carrots has a larger diameter than a half dollar (anybody else remember those things?). Two of the carrots were absurdly small, but 4 of them are pretty darn big and are more than enough for use in a meal or two. I’m still not sure why the majority of my carrot seeds didn’t sprout at all and why some of them stayed very small. I’m hoping some soil adjustments and other changes over the winter will help to fix whatever problem I’ve got.

I don’t have the package on hand anymore, but I’m pretty certain that this variety is called “Scarlet Nantes“. The picture on the website doesn’t look too similar to the carrots I got, however, so I really cannot be sure.

These carrots are softer than the ones we normally get at the store, but still have a good crunch and a good flavor. One has already ended up in a big pot of beef and vegetable soup (I’ll write about that later), and I’m not sure yet what I’m going to do with the other ones.

Author: Andrew Whitworth

I'm a software engineer from Philadelphia PA. Sometimes I like to go out to my garden, or step into my kitchen and make a really big mess of things.

Leave a Reply

