Accidentally Cooking

Documenting my mistakes in the garden, kitchen and pantry

Fruit Trees: Part 3

Leave a comment

Last time I listed out some of the possible combinations of two small fruit trees that we were considering to plant in our yard come spring.

After talking about it with Dana a lot, we’ve decided that the best combination for our needs is two sweet cherry trees. We don’t have a good pick-your-own source for cherries nearby, at least not one as reliable as our sources for peaches and apples. We also like pears, but we don’t need or even want them in the same kinds of quantities. If I could find a good source of pears I would make some recipes with them, but I don’t plan to do anything with pears in bulk like we want with cherries.

We thought about getting a combination like one cherry tree and one peach tree, but we worry that between the birds and the squirrels, the harvest from a single cherry tree wouldn’t ever be quite enough for our purposes. Maybe we’re overestimating the obnoxiousness of the local ecosystem, and two trees may leave us with an overwhelming buttload of cherries that we can’t deal with. We’ll be eating them and cooking them and jamming them into cracks in the foundation to make them all disappear. Regardless, I’d much rather err on the side of having too many cherries instead of having too few. It would be a good problem to have.

The decision to get two cherry trees is just the first step in a very long journey of difficult decisions to be made. In later posts (I may take a detour for a few weeks), I’ll talk about which particular varieties of cherries we’re looking at.

Author: Andrew Whitworth

I'm a software engineer from Philadelphia PA. Sometimes I like to go out to my garden, or step into my kitchen and make a really big mess of things.

Leave a Reply

