Accidentally Cooking

Documenting my mistakes in the garden, kitchen and pantry

Chicken Rollups with Cider Jelly

Leave a comment

So now you’ve got a pile of Apple Cider Jelly laying around the house. So you think to yourself, “self, what can I do with all this delicious jelly in the next 5 minutes before I drink it all with a straw and throw myself into the abyss of diabetic coma?” I like this stuff on toast, or on english muffins. I haven’t tried it yet, but I strongly suspect it would be great mixed in with some oatmeal, warmed up and poured onto pancakes, and maybe even used to dip some maple flavored breakfast sausage.

Problem is, all these are breakfasty options and there are a dozen more hours in the day where I could be forcing cider jelly into my gaping maw if I could find the correct vehicle for it.

Enter wife. Dana has a much more practical and homey approach to cooking than I have, and she’s been working to perfect a great recipe for chicken rollups. In the most recent incarnation we added some of my cider jelly and true love was born.

Chicken Rollups with Cider Jelly

  • Chicken Breast, cut into rectangular chunks
  • A tube of ready-to-cook crescent rolls (We used Pillsbury, because it was on sale)
  • Brown Mustard
  • Cider Jelly
  • Smoked cheese (we used a smoked gouda, but we’ve used applewood smoked cheddar in the past)
  • Salt, pepper, and spices or whatever. Whatever you think tastes good on chicken.

You know how big your favorite brand of crescent rolls are, right? Cut your chicken breast into chunks about that same size. You want the chunks to fit nicely into the middle when it’s all rolled up. Doing the math, you’ll need as many chunks as you have crescent rolls to fill (We’ve found 1 breast of chicken is enough for a tube with 8 crescent rolls).

Cook the chicken in a fry pan with a little oil, salt, pepper and whatever spices you like. Dana likes onion powder.

DSC_3191

Separate the crescent rolls. In each, put a piece of chicken, a slice of cheese, a squirt of mustard and a small dollop of cider jelly. Roll up, and arrange on a baking sheet. Bake according to the directions on the tube (the chicken is already cooked, so you only need to bake the pastry). Remove from the oven, cut into bite-sized peaces AND DEVOUR THEM.

DSC_3192

In the time before the cider jelly I’ve made a mustard cream sauce for dipping. With the jelly, I don’t think it’s necessary (probably can’t hurt, though).

Author: Andrew Whitworth

I'm a software engineer from Philadelphia PA. Sometimes I like to go out to my garden, or step into my kitchen and make a really big mess of things.

Leave a Reply

