Accidentally Cooking

Documenting my mistakes in the garden, kitchen and pantry

Blood Orange Jelly

Leave a comment

Last time I made this recipe, I used a combination of Naval oranges, Tangerines and Lemons to get the amount of juice that the recipe called for. I didn’t have any Blood Oranges at the time even though the recipe I was following is titled simply “Blood Orange“. Instead I used what I had, and the results were great. It was bright, light, sweet, and very citrusy.

Things are slightly different now. I do have the blood oranges I need, but I don’t have any of the Granny Smith apples that the original recipe requires. It’s time to go a little bit off-road and create some ruby red Blood Orange Jelly.

Blood Orange Jelly

  • 4 cups fresh squeezed Blood Orange Juice [1]
  • Zest of two of those oranges [2]
  • 3 cups sugar
  • 1 packet Sure-Jel low-sugar pectin

Squeeze out the juice. Follow the general directions on the pectin packet [3]. Put into jars and process[4]. That should be more than enough direction for anybody who isn’t a complete wuss in the kitchen [5].

Here’s the pot full of beautiful ruby-red juice:

DSC_3194

And here’s the pile of zested and juiced orange remains, on their way to the compost pile:

DSC_3193

Results

The resulting jelly is deep ruby read and tastes great. I was expecting it to be the same breezy flavor as my earlier jelly with the Navels and Tangerines. This is not what it is at all. The flavor is deep, complex, mature, and amazing. It’s got a flavor that seems like it could be a mixture of navel orange and grapefruit, if grapefruits didn’t suck so bad, and with a couple other flavors mixed in too. It’s a little bit more full of a flavor than my earlier orange jelly recipe was, with a little bit more of the blood orange astringency at the end. It’s definitely a little bit more tart and less sweet.

DSC_3195

Overall this recipe is very good, and already a favorite of mine (I say that about all my jams!). I suspect that this great complex blood orange flavor will mix very well in other recipes that I am starting to imagine.

Moro Blood Oranges are not considered to be the tastiest of the various Blood Orange varieties. However, they do seem to be the only ones my local stores carry. If I can find some other varieties, I may revisit this recipe. Considering how great this recipe turned out with the Moros, I can only imagine how much better it might be with a more highly-regarded variety.

Notes

  1. It took me just shy of 6lbs of oranges to get enough juice, and it took me about an hour to squeeze it all out. My $%&! oranges were sort of small and stingy with the juice. The oranges were acidic enough that, I hope, additional lemon juice was not needed. I didn’t add any.
  2. I zested two oranges with the microplane into the jelly concoction, but I used a vegetable peeler to save most of the rest of the zest from the remaining oranges and put them into a large quart jar filled with vodka. Look forward to a Triple Sec recipe in the next few posts.
  3. Mix the pectin with some of the sugar in a bowl, and stir together to prevent lumps. Add the juice, pectin and sugar to the pot. Bring to a boil over high heat. Boil hard for 1 minute (boiling to the point that stiring it doesn’t make the bubbles go away). Put in jars and process.
  4. I processed for 15 minutes
  5. Every time I go into the kitchen I get so overwhelmed that I fall to the ground and cry. Everything is so bright and so hot. I don’t know what I’m doing. I mask my debilitating lack of skill and confidence by hastily writing an awkwardly unfunny blog. Also, I’m sorry about calling anybody a wuss. You’re probably not. You could probably beat me up in a fight. Please don’t fight me.
Author: Andrew Whitworth

I'm a software engineer from Philadelphia PA. Sometimes I like to go out to my garden, or step into my kitchen and make a really big mess of things.

Leave a Reply

