Accidentally Cooking

Documenting my mistakes in the garden, kitchen and pantry

Cherry Trees!

Leave a comment

Twas the day before weekend and all through the house
I was home working with keyboard and mouse.
The cupcakes were set on the table with care,
In hopes that the baby shower soon would be there.

The child was off to his daycare with joy,
to run, sing, play, jump around and destroy.
Now Dana was reading, books. I with my work,
was computing and typing like some kind of jerk.

When out on the lawn there arose such a tapping,
it startled us both from our nearly-not napping.
Away to the kitchen I flew like The Flash,
threw open the door with my common panache.

A dude tramped away through the old soggy snow,
left a big freaking object on my porch don'cha'know?
Now what to my wandering eyes did appear,
but a seven foot box stood up on it's rear.

The little old driver, so lively and quick, 
I knew in a moment it was FedEx guy, Nick.
More rapid than eagles, my knife I done grabbed,
and into the packing tape of the box I did stabbed.

"Oh Dana, come quickly! I'm eager and happy!
My Cherries, not seedlings, are growing and scrappy.
From the front of my porch, to the rear of my home,
I'll carry them quickly and plant them in loam!"

As the dry leaves that with hurricane Sandy did flirt,
when meet with my shovel, I'm digging the dirt.
Out in my house-back the shovel-fulls flew,
two new trees, Stella and Black Tartarian too.

And then as I finished I stomped with my foots,
to cover with dirt all the moist little roots.
Once the pile of soil had back-filled the pit,
I watered them quickly and blog post did writ.

DSC_3199

I hope you enjoyed a little bit of my hardcore freestylin’. My two cherry trees arrived in the mail today and I already have them planted along the side of the house.

Author: Andrew Whitworth

I'm a software engineer from Philadelphia PA. Sometimes I like to go out to my garden, or step into my kitchen and make a really big mess of things.

Leave a Reply

