Accidentally Cooking

Documenting my mistakes in the garden, kitchen and pantry

Blueberry Bushes!

Leave a comment

‘Twas at Home Depo when what to my wandering eyes did appear….

Oh right, I did this shtick already. I went to Lowes a few days ago looking for some pieces to put the finishing touches on my growlight fixture. I needed some cover plates to help keep little fingers out of places with live electrical wires, and a few other odds and ends. As soon as I walked into the store my attention was pulled towards a display of seeds and plants. Among them were little blueberry bush plants and little grapevines (and Raspberry and blackberry bushes, which we can’t have due to allergies). I was sorely tempted to pick up a handful of these little plants and dance, cackling with joy, all the way to my car.

I refrained.

A few days later the munchkin and I took a trip to Home Depot, because….well, I don’t need an excuse to go to Home Depot. We got out of the car and I almost immediately noticed a new curbside display of trees and bushes. We took a stroll over that direction and GUESS WHAT THEY WERE? Large blueberry bushes (and grapes, and raspberries)! They were much larger bushes than the ones on sale at Lowes (3-foot tall or more), and not much more expensive.

Today, Xander talked me into buying two bushes of them. The first variety, Duke, is an early harvesting variety. The second variety, Bluecrop, is a mid-season variety with good disease resistance and consistent yields.  All sources I’ve seen say that the more blueberry plants you have for cross-pollination, the better. We’re going to start with two for now but we’ll grab more if necessary.

Author: Andrew Whitworth

I'm a software engineer from Philadelphia PA. Sometimes I like to go out to my garden, or step into my kitchen and make a really big mess of things.

Leave a Reply

