Accidentally Cooking

Documenting my mistakes in the garden, kitchen and pantry

Seedlings Rollcall

Leave a comment

Dana was all like “What did you buy?” and I was all like “IDK LOL”.

I Dunno LOL

I Dunno LOL

Of course, I really did know, and I knew it was awesome.

Xander and I went down to Home Depot to buy some stuff for the last stages of our never-ending bathroom repair and remodel project. When we were at the store he wanted to go to the Lawn and Garden “Outside Part”. There I saw some of the first new plant seedlings for sale and quickly picked up a small Rosemary plant and a packet of 50 baby onion transplants.

DSC_3204

On our way to the cash register Xander mentioned the blueberries again. OKAY FINE I’LL BUY THEM. Twist my leg, whydoncha? Actually, the leg didn’t need much twisting. I also picked up a packet of pepperoncini pepper seeds. My current list of seedlings packed tightly in the small space under my grow light looks like this:

  • 17 tomato plants (6 Roma, 3 “Super 100 Hybrid” cherries, 3 “Redcurrant” cherries, and 5 others which are a mix of these and volunteers)
  • 4 “Long Thai Hot” hot peppers
  • 4 “California Wonder” bell peppers
  • 24 “Walla Walla” sweet yellow onions

Those pepperoncinis haven’t sprouted yet, but I could get up to 4 of them as well.

DSC_3205

Last year with my cowhorn and serrano peppers I made a lot of hot pepper vinegar, which is always a favorite addition to soups. You only need a spoonful of that stuff for almost any meal, and the quantity I made last summer is more than enough to get me through 2013 and into 2014 (even considering I gave the bulk away as gifts). This year with the Thai hot peppers and the garlic I planted I want to make some sriracha, and with the pepperoncini I want to make some pickled peppers for sandwiches and salads.

The 6 roma tomato plants serve one primary purpose: to be cooked down into tomato sauce. Sure, they’ll also be the bomb diggity in salsa, bruschetta, and sliced thick on hamburgers. This year if I can get a decent crop, I’m hoping to put up several big jars of sauce for the winter months. The cherry tomatoes I got, which both promise to be prolific varieties, are going to be mostly for fresh eating. If I get too many, I may try my hand at drying them out again (if I can buy or borrow a real dehydrator).

Author: Andrew Whitworth

I'm a software engineer from Philadelphia PA. Sometimes I like to go out to my garden, or step into my kitchen and make a really big mess of things.

Leave a Reply

