Accidentally Cooking

Documenting my mistakes in the garden, kitchen and pantry

First Onions Transplanted

Leave a comment

I bought a 50 pack of onions (not including the few that sprouted in my pantry), but only brought the 16 biggest in to put under my grow light. About a dozen of the next largest ones were put into a pot outside. Most of the rest of them looked too small and pathetic to plant, so with my limited space in mind I carefully dumped them in the compost. It’s not something I wanted to do, but the logistics of the situation forced my hand. Why couldn’t the store sell something smaller than a 50 pack?

Last weekend I transplanted the first few onions, the dozen or so that had been in a pot outside, into my garden. I also transplanted the few onions which had sprouted in my pantry to the garden as well. Normally many gardeners like to “harden off” their plants (gradually expose them to the weather, to avoid shock) before transplanting, but I don’t really have enough space indoors for all these little sprouts and had to put them somewhere. The rest of my onions from inside were hardened off over a few days and were just transplanted outside.


DSC_3224

DSC_3222

All told, I currently have about 24 onions planted in the garden, next to about 9 or 10 garlic plants of varying sizes which have been out there all winter long (and about a dozen potatoes, nearby in buckets).

The few garlic plants that survived the winter seem to be doing alright now:

DSC_3223

I plan to start hardening off some of my tomatoes and pepper plants in the coming weeks as well, with the goal being to have them in the ground around mid-April (weather permitting).

Author: Andrew Whitworth

I'm a software engineer from Philadelphia PA. Sometimes I like to go out to my garden, or step into my kitchen and make a really big mess of things.

Leave a Reply

