Accidentally Cooking

Documenting my mistakes in the garden, kitchen and pantry

Swollen Buds

Leave a comment

Not a real post today, just posting some pictures of the various plants that are ready to burst with springy goodness. First, some of the largest buds on my blueberries are starting to burst:

DSC_3263

I was worried that my cherry trees were sick or dying, especially when they didn’t start budding out and blossoming with some of the other trees last week. However, the buds on my two little trees are swelling up and showing signs of life, even if it is a little later than expected:

DSC_3266

DSC_3265

I know transplanting (and trans-continental shipping) are stressful on plants, and I know that the soil in my yard leaves something to be desired. I’m happy to see some signs of life, even if they are moving a little slowly. I don’t expect to get any cherries from these trees this year (or very very few), so as long as they stay alive and build up some good root growth this year I’ll be happy.

Finally, the potatoes in my buckets are starting to leaf out, which has me pretty excited:

DSC_3269

DSC_3267

DSC_3268

It’s a modest start, but it’s a portent of good things to come. With my tomatoes and peppers in the ground as well, we could be in for an awesome year of gardening shenanigans.

Author: Andrew Whitworth

I'm a software engineer from Philadelphia PA. Sometimes I like to go out to my garden, or step into my kitchen and make a really big mess of things.

Leave a Reply

