Accidentally Cooking

Documenting my mistakes in the garden, kitchen and pantry

Apple Halves in Light Cinnamon Syrup

Leave a comment

Last year when I first started canning, I quickly got overwhelmed with the sheer bulk of things. We picked so many apples at the farm that we started running out of recipes to use them in. I made apple sauce and apple butter, apple pie (and filling), apple jam and even apple bourbon. When we still had apples left over and they were starting to reach the edge of over-ripeness, I made a desperate play and put up two pint jars of apple halves in syrup. Here’s a picture of the apples in syrup, next to a jar of apple sauce (we still have 1 of these), apple butter and caramel apple jam.

DSC_3010

My thought, at the time, was that I would find something to do with them eventually. False. They sat in the pantry, unused and unremembered all year. If I hadn’t found them while taking inventory recently, they would still be buried.

Until opening this jar I had no idea how they would taste. My expectations were not too high. I expected the apple flavor to leach out and dilute in the syrup and the powerful cinnamon flavor to overwhelm everything. When we finally opened the can up for a taste, we were pleasantly surprised.

I mentioned these in a post long ago, but never went into details. Today I’ll give the recipe and finally share the results.

Apple Halves in Light Cinnamon Syrup

  • Apples, peeled, cored and halved [1]
  • Prepared Syrup [2]
  • Cinnamon Sticks
  • Lemon Juice [3]

Okay, here’s the deal. I never wrote this recipe down and I have no real memory of exactly what I did. The general process is relatively simple, so I’m going to extrapolate.

Pack the apple chunks into the jar, up to the shoulder (not too high). Put 1 cinnamon stick in each jar. Pour in enough syrup to cover, leaving 1/2 inch head space. Process the jars in a boiling water bath for 15 minutes.

Results

The apple chunks have taken on a bit of a brownish tint. I don’t know if it’s an oxidation issue or something having to do with the recipe (I’m looking at you, cinnamon!) or just a result of being stored for a year.

The texture of the apple chunks is pretty soft, but they aren’t falling apart. They aren’t mushy, but they don’t take a lot of effort to cut or chew. A good firm apple, or even one slightly under-ripe might be perfect in the future. The Gala apples we used were good enough, but a softer apple wouldn’t be.

What about the flavor? This was the part I worried about the most. Would the apples taste like bland sugar syrup? Would the cinnamon flavor be too intense and overwhelming? The answer to both questions is a resounding “No”. The apples have plenty of flavor and the cinnamon  is very gentle and pleasant. It is  simple and delicious.

The syrup that the apples are floating in is fantastic all by itself. It’s a cinnamon apple flavor, and because I used a light syrup recipe it isn’t overly rich.  I suspect it will be amazing on pancakes or mixed in to cocktails.

Now that I know the results are good, I’ll definitely do this again.

Notes

  1. For the life of me I can’t remember how I got the apples into the shape they are in. I suspect I must have done the whole thing—peeling, coring and slicing—by hand with a knife. This was before I bought my apple peeler contraption. I’ve also seen slices and other shapes be popular on the internet. We used Gala Apples.
  2. See the National Center for Home Food Preservation website for information on different syrup recipes and technique. We used a “light syrup“, which turned out perfectly although the website appears to suggest a medium syrup instead.
  3. don’t remember if I used lemon juice in the original recipe. I imagine I must have. It certainly can’t hurt to replace some of the water in the syrup recipe with lemon juice, to be double-certain that botulism is dead.
Author: Andrew Whitworth

I'm a software engineer from Philadelphia PA. Sometimes I like to go out to my garden, or step into my kitchen and make a really big mess of things.

Leave a Reply

