Accidentally Cooking

Documenting my mistakes in the garden, kitchen and pantry

Garlic Planted

Leave a comment

It’s mid-October, so the time has come to plant garlic. I brought the munchkin out to help, and he did. For about 3.5 seconds. There’s nothing like a little bit of good father-son bonding time.

As I mentioned in my earlier post about the barter, I had 2 heads each of 5 varieties of garlic. They are, in the order that they were planted: Music, German Red, Purple Italian, Leningrad and German White. Here are some initial notes about them:

  • Music: The cloves were decent quality and size, and there were several of them. One or two cloves were not suitable to be planted, but the majority were just fine.
  • German Red: Many of the cloves were a little creepy, between being dried and shriveled or starting to rot. I was able to salvage enough to plant, but maybe a half of the cloves were not usable.
  • Purple Italian: Better than the German red, a few of the cloves of the Italian Purple were rotting or otherwise unplantable, but not too many.
  • Leningrad: These cloves were bigger but less numerous. Only one clove seemed creepy, the rest were planted.
  • German White: Each head had exactly 4 large cloves. These were the biggest cloves of all the varieties I planted, and all of them were healthy-looking.

I can use this information to try and direct my planting and harvesting habits. If the German Red and Purple Italian varieties are more less robust in long-term storage, I can try to use them up earlier for eating, be more careful in how they are stored, and plant them earlier in the fall before some of the problems set in. The German White and Leningrad varieties, on the other hand, can maybe be saved till later in the season without worrying that they will go bad.

Of these five varieties, we haven’t eaten any yet. We won’t know until next year how they taste, and which ones are really worth keeping and propagating for the long term.

Author: Andrew Whitworth

I'm a software engineer from Philadelphia PA. Sometimes I like to go out to my garden, or step into my kitchen and make a really big mess of things.

Leave a Reply

